Hinda Hicks

Home »  Hinda Hicks


Hinda Hicks

Hinda Hicks

Hinda Hicks is a Tunisian born singer, with British nationality having moved to West Sussex as a child.


Hinda originally sang with an R&B band called the Fabulous Fug Band and at one time sent a demo of her vocals alongside Aretha Franklin’s “Giving Him Something He Can Feel” to Phil Collins. However she continued to remain unsigned and moved to London working as as a secretary and singing with a band called Mixed Fruits.


She signed to Island Records and her first single, “I Wanna Be Your Lady” was released in late 1997, followed by her first album, eponymously-titled Hinda in 1998. Hicks co-wrote the songs on Hinda.

Early success

Hinda’s first released single failed to make the UK Singles Chart, although a more concerted promotional campaign saw “If You Want Me” chart at number 25 in February 1998. She followed this up with the release of “You Think You Own Me” in May of the same year, which reached number 19. Her fourth single, a re-release of “I Wanna Be Your Lady” achieved her highest chart position to date, at number 14 in August 1998.

During the summer of 1998 Hinda promoted both her single and album on mainstream television and radio shows in the UK and she took supporting roles on tours with Boyzone amongst others. By the end of that year “Truly” had charted at number 31.

Second album

Having begun work on her second album Hinda released “My Remedy”, in 2000 but Island Records’ merger with Universal Records and an apparent lack of promotion saw it falter at number 61 in the UK chart. Originally the second album was due for a late 2000 release. A handful of promotional copies and limited releases were made available, but commercially the launch was aborted and Hinda and her record company parted ways.

In between record companies and albums, Hinda found time to record vocals on other artists’ tracks. This included “Let’s Do It Again” with the late Lynden David Hall, which featured on his album, The Other Side and a compilation album (Pure R&B Volume 2) together with Brand New Day with Terri Walker, appearing on Walker’s Untitled album.

A new album was finally released in July 2004, now titled Still Doin’ My Thing on a small R&B label, Shout Out Records, and containing a different tracklisting to Everything to Me.

The single “Up Up” from Still Doin’ My Thing was released in the summer of 2004 and once again with Hinda failing to repeat her successes of six years previously the single did not make the Top 40.

Third album and the future

In February 2007 Hinda’s’ MySpace page announced that a third album (then untitled) would be released in 2010. As of November 2008, Hinda was listed as part of a London-based artistic and music collective created by the DJ and producer Yvan Healer Selecta and called Raison d’Etre sic.

Crticial acclaim

In October 1998 Hinda was nominated for three MOBO awards, Best R’n’B Act, Best Newcomer and Best Album and appeared on a MOBO Allstars charity single called “Aint No Stopping Us Now”. In early 1999 Hinda was nominated at the BRIT Awards in the categories of ‘best newcomer’ and ‘best British female artist’

Other interests


According to various fan sites and her official website Hicks was once offered a basketball scholarship in the U.S. and is a qualified coach.,


Hinda has also appeared in two British film productions: G:MT – Greenwich Mean Time in 1999 (for which she performed several of the songs on the official soundtrack ) and Circus in 2000.,

She also took an uncredited role in a well-received U.S. film Love & Basketball in 2000 and wrote the song “Our Destiny” that appeared in the movie but was not featured on the soundtrack. The track did however feature on the Everything to Me album, which was not released in the UK.


  1. Redeem The TimeD Vine5:21
  2. Common Law StringsSoundman4:02
  3. Born AgainKayla Amor3:13
  4. Let It RideRobert Glasper Experiment feat. Norah Jones6:09
  5. On The Line (Random Movement Remix)Bachelors Of Science - (ft. Collette Warren & Ben Soundscape)4:29
  6. RevolutionPotential Badboy ft Demolition Man + Show Stephens3:01
  7. ImpossibleNuma Crew, Robert Dallas, Petah Sunday. Serum5:58
  8. Love YouRay Keith7:02
  9. BodolaHidden Element5:16
  10. Your LightSoundman Ft. Hinda Hicks3:49
  11. Motion Blur (Outer Edges)Noisia3:25
  12. Inside InfoSpychase3:36
  13. ParadiseEdward Oberon6:23