Hinda’s bio

Home »  Hinda’s bio

Earn Unlimited DASH For Free

Hinda Hicks

Hinda Hicks

Born in Tunisia

but raised in West Sussex,

soul singer Hinda Hicks emerged in the late ’90s as one of the U.K.’s most promising talents. Inspired by the likes of Ella Fitzgerald and Nina Simone, she began singing with R&B act the Fabulous Fug Band before moving to London, where she joined the local band Mixed Fruits. After being introduced to music producer Jazz Black, she attracted attention from several record companies before signing a five-album deal with Island in 1997. Her debut single, “I Wanna Be Your Lady,” failed to chart, but after high-profile support slots with Boyzone and 911, her next three singles, “If You Want Me” (number 25), “You Think You Own Me” (number 19), and a re-release of her debut (number 14) all reached the Top 40. Her debut album, entitled Hinda, charted at number 20, leading her to receive three nominations at the 1998 MOBO Awards and nominations for Best British Female and Best British Newcomer at the 1999 Brit Awards.

After a fourth Top 40 single, “Truly” (number 31), Hinda spent the next year recording the follow-up, Everything to Me. But difficulties with her label due to its merger with Universal and a lack of promotion meant that its first single, “My Remedy,” missed the Top 40. The album only received a limited release, and by the end of 2000 she had parted company with Island. After providing vocals on the late Lynden David Hall’s second album, Other Side, and Terri Walker’s debut, Untitled, Hinda returned to the musical fray in 2004 with her third album, Still Doin’ My Thing, released via the small R&B label Shout Out Records. Hinda has also appeared in British movies Greenwich Mean Time and Circus, and has an uncredited role in the U.S. film Love and Basketball. ~ Jon O’Brien

70 million songs with new releases from today's most popular artists. Download songs and albums to listen offline wherever you are. Always ad-free.


  1. Wipe OutSoundman Ft. HQ6:33
  2. Nobody Can Judge MeMC Navigator4:07
  3. All The MC's OutsideMC Micro6:41
  4. TechnologyMC Micro5:17
  5. Feel The MusicSoundman5:32
  6. Your LightSoundman Ft. Hinda Hicks3:49
  7. Just SayingSam Scott4:21
  8. Love Will Set You FreeRowena De Los Reyes3:33
  9. BlessingSoundman Feat. Antranita4:56